Green Pea and Smoked Mushroom Pancakes

17 Mar

I can’t make pancakes to save my life. They come out burnt or too thick or undercooked. I’m what you might call a pancake disaster.

Ironically, then, for about a year and a half, maybe more, I would wake up with this insane desire for pancakes. I would just imagine all that syrupy sweetness and thick, fluffy goodness, and immediately decide, “I need pancakes today.” My partner would be a good sport (and a smart person) and would drive us to the nearest Good Egg for a giant plate of pancakes. I say he was being a good sport because he knew the deal. I never actually ordered pancakes when we got to the restaurant. I would end up with an omelet or a skillet or even a plate of corn beef hash if I had fallen onto the meaty train. Once I even had the nerve to order the giant cinnamon roll of death thing that they sell, but almost never did I actually order pancakes. He never made me feel like a crazy person or fussed at me. He ate the pancakes for me, letting me grab a forkful every now and then.

Our challenge item for this week was mushrooms. I’ll be honest, I don’t actually like mushrooms. Other than portobellos, they are too earthy for me. Which is odd as I’m always going on about inhaling the earth and earthy smelling flavors, but mushrooms are too much for even me. Maybe it’s because they cross over into the fungal earth category. Totally different taste. Anyway, mushrooms. Not my favorite thing to eat. What the hell should I make with mushrooms… I know, PANCAKES!

I’d come across this recipe which featured green pea pancakes.  Not only are her pictures gorgeous, but those pancakes looked like something I wanted in my mouth ASAP. I decided to make a vegan version of these puppies. I thought, why not try adding mushrooms to the mix and see what happens. So that’s exactly what I did. I added crimini mushrooms to my pancakes. Plated, I topped them with sliced beets, the smoked portobellos and a dollop of coconut yogurt. They were divine. Without all the fancy stuff on top, they weren’t kid-approved (I heard she made the most vicious face), but apparently, they were alright with guacamole. Only I ate the entire prepped dish. In my defense, the pancakes by themselves were tried out by folks who don’t typically eat like me. I will consider the fact that there was only one communicated dislike a success. This dish was delicious, and I can’t wait to experiment some more with these using a different blend of flours. They’ve got great potential, and with the weather getting warmer, I can see these going great mixed with many different green vegetables.

Let the pancake craving evolve and flourish!

What I Used

Portobello Mushroom Marinade

Mushroom Marinade

1/4 cup olive oil
2 tbsp balsamic
2 tbsp soy sauce
4 cloves garlic
1 tbsp tarragon
1 tsp liquid smoke
1 tbsp dijon mustard
2 portobello mushrooms

Pancakes

1/2 cup crimini mushrooms
4 oz frozen green peas
1/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk
1 tbsp arrowroot powder
3 tbsp brown rice flour
1 tbsp chickpea flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp shredded coconut
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup nutritional yeast

What I Did

For the portobellos, I mixed the marinade ingredients and let them sit for 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 375 and bake for 30 minutes once the marinating is finished.

For the pancakes, I followed the original directions pretty closely. I cooked the peas and then submerged them in water. Instead of pureeing half and mashing the other half, I pureed all of the peas with the coconut milk. In a separate bowl, I mixed together the remainder of the ingredients. Once this was mixed, I folded in the peas.

Portobellos

Portobellos Post Bake

Submerged Peas

Love the sight of green peas

Now comes the fun part. Cooking the madness. Which should’ve been the scary part, but it came out just fine. I heated up the skillet and instead of using olive oil, I used olive oil spray. I plopped a tablespoon of batter per pancake and let them cook on one side until the bottom had set and the edges started to brown. Waiting for pancakes to set, though not as maddening as stirring roux, is taxing on the patience.

Once these were done, I stacked some of them with beets, and some of them with the portobello mixture and a dollop of coconut yogurt. The portobello yogurt ones were my favorite.

Plain Pancakes

Pancakes sans topping

Pancakes with toppings

The pancakes with all the fixins!

Pancake Closeup

Another view

Beet-topped Pancake

Beet-topped pancake

Leave a Reply

