Dead Baby Daddies and Failed Food Challenges

3 Mar

Recently I dreamt that I had sex with my dead ex-boyfriend. I know, I know, that’s weird as hell. It gets weirder. We made a baby. Now tell me the subconscious isn’t crazy.

I finessed babies out of a dead guy. Who, for the record, looked very much alive in my dream. It’s just that I knew he was dead. Anyway, I sabotaged the condoms, did desperate and ridiculous things with his, um, deposits; I was pretty much a devious, little crazy person. And it paid off. I had a beautiful little baby girl.

I have no idea what the dream means.  There is no entry in my dream book for “coercion: dead people”. I do know that dreams rarely mean what we think they mean. Quite often, they mean the exact opposite of what they appear to mean. Which in this case is an absolute blessing. This dream was probably telling me that I’m going to lose something dear to me if I don’t fight harder for it, or something like that.

All I know is the dream was a hot mess. Kinda like the sweet potato tamales I cooked for this week’s food challenge.

Roasted Sweet Potato

The item chosen was potato. I don’t usually eat white potatoes, but I do love some sweet potatoes. Sweet potatoes are well, sweet. And normal and wholesome. And comforting. And tamales remind me of happier times and childhood. So after that crazy dream, of course I’d want to make something that reminded me of goodness and innocence.

Ingredients

Filling

Boy, did that not work out for me. The masa was a mix of masa, roasted sweet potato and nutritional yeast. By itself, the mixture was delicious. I had high hopes after a taste! The inside was sautéed black beans, onions, mexican squash, and garlic, which was roasted with the sweet potatoes. Also delectable. But after steaming the tamales for an hour, they were not firm. After another 20 minutes in the oven, they still weren’t firm. I’d run out of friggin’ ideas! Why wouldn’t they just firm up?!

Steaming the Tamales

Plated Tamales

Eventually I had a brain spark and put them in the dehydrator for 14 hours. I still haven’t had the heart to test them out, though. I stuck them in a ziplock and threw them in the freezer. Some things are perhaps better left  sans resurrection. Things worked out in my dream, but I’m afraid I’m not so optimistic about these doggone tamales.

 

 

2 Responses to “Dead Baby Daddies and Failed Food Challenges”

  1. R Danielle Williamson March 5, 2013 at 7:16 am #

    You’re a nutball!! Maybe not for dreaming up the stuff or thinking things BUUUUUT for sharing them. *LOL*

    • Elle March 5, 2013 at 9:09 am #

      See, that’s what’s wrong with the world! Lol I should be able to share the craziness that is my brain, thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

