Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Postworkout Smoothie

17 Feb

Yoga is kicking my ass! Every which way, even up! Thanks LAURA BROWN! There’s no such thing as delayed onset. Those muscles start pulsing and kicking the next morning. Even after a 7 PM class! That’s truly, truly a bad sign. And a good one. All at once. Yeah.

Today, I knew that I would be away from the house for hours after my yoga class this morning and that I would need a post yoga smoothie to carry me through the better part of the afternoon. I generally turn to banana smoothies for post workout anything. Bananas are awesome in that they have loads of potassium which keeps my muscles from cramping up. They’re filling and a good way to get in two quick servings of fruit. Today, though, I also needed more protein than usual as I knew these muscles of mine would be working hard in Vinyasa. Inversions, head stands, kicks, really I had no idea what was in store for me when I left the house this morning.

Add to that, I just really, really, really wanted something sweet. I earned it, you know? This smoothie is delicious, filling, and a full meal replacement. If you want it for a snack, half it or share it with a friend. They’ll definitely thank you for it. I’m sitting here with a smile on my face sipping out of a mason jar. Yoga was brutal this morning, but today I learned just how strong my body really is. Your turn. Drink up!

Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Postworkout Smoothie

What’s In It

1 cup chocolate almond milk
1 cup coconut water
2 frozen bananas
1 tsp maca
1 heaping tablespoon of peanut butter (Right now I only have Earth Balance’s coconut peanut butter spread in the house. You could use a 1/2 tbsp of coco oil and a 1/2 tbsp of PB to replicate this smoothie exactly)

Throw everything in a high-powered blender and crunch away on medium for 30 secs and then on high for about 60 secs. Voila, you’re done.

**Make sure you incorporate this high calorie smoothie into a balanced diet for the day so you’re not packing on more calories than you’ve burned.

Leave a Reply

