Horseradish Edamame Polenta Cakes

16 Feb

This week’s food challenge item was edamame. Say WHAT?! Edamame is to sushi what pinto beans are to rice.

Edamame and sushi

Edamame and Sushi. Photo Courtesy of ka-chou

Like why would you put it with anything else!? It’s the item we were given, though, and that’s the nature of a challenge.

So, what to do, what to do. I wanted something original, I wanted something pretty, I wanted something someone else would want to eat. I accomplished only one of these things. I am not a food artist and so my plating will probably never be anything other than some shit thrown on a plate. lol Many people have made horseradish grits before (for instance this chick, who I’m worried may have an authentic addiction, judging by her flickr account), but I didn’t see anything about cakes. And I sure didn’t see anything about edamame polenta. Therefore, I figured it was fair game to give it a go. I’d say they were a bonafide success.

 
What’s in ThemPolenta Cakes

2 cups broth
2 cups milk
2 tsp salt
1 1/4 cup yellow cornmeal
3 tbsp Earth Balance (or butter if you choose)
4 tbsp Horseradish (this is very horseradishy, adjust to taste)
1/2 cup pureed edamame
1/4 tsp cayenne
2 cloves garlic
1 cup of nutritional yeast

What I did

Edamame

To puree the edamame, I put the edamame in a food processor with 1/4 cup of water and pureed it on high. then I dumped it into a bowl and added another 1/4 cup of water as well as 1/4 cup of the cooked polenta and mashed this with the hand blender. If you have a powerful food processor, which I do not, this could be condensed into one step.

Polenta Cakes

Preheat oven to 350. Bring the broth, milk and salt to a boil. Once it is boiling, reduce heat to low and add the butter and cornmeal. Cook until thickened, stirring often. This took me about 20 minutes, but you’ll have to judge when it’s done based on the cut of your cornmeal, your heat and what you use for liquid. Once this is cooked, I folded in the remaining ingredients. I sprayed a muffin tin with olive oil spray and then added the polenta to the tins. This cooked for 40 minutes in the oven.

Polenta Cakes with Chorizo
Though these cakes by themselves were quite frickin’ delicious – if I do say so myself – my choice of topping and plating were a tad circumspect. I topped them with soyrizo, which was good, but the “sauce” I made was too heavily arrowrooted, and therefore came out a little sticky. I won’t tell you what it looks like to me. :-/ I don’t know what I would top these with in the future, but I have about 8 more cakes to figure it out.

I hope you give them a try and feel free to link to your pictures or recipes in the comments section below!

3 Responses to “Horseradish Edamame Polenta Cakes”

  1. Stella February 19, 2013 at 8:07 am #

    Great flavor combination! I’ll add this to my grits repertoire!

    And, yes, I eat grits at least once a week, as a rule. Delicious!

    • Elle February 19, 2013 at 9:45 am #

      Hi Stella! Thanks for stopping by! If you try them, please let me know what you think. I am on the hunt for a vegan sausage recipe to have a horseradish grits and sausage brunch. Yours looks so good!

      • Stella February 19, 2013 at 9:46 am #

        I used to be vegan, but I can’t remember what my favorite sausages were…

Leave a Reply

