Cheesy Bacon and Asian Pear Scones

10 Feb

I don’t bake very much anymore. In my early 20s, I was the queen of homemade breads, muffins and cakes (especially those involving caramel and red velvet). I can’t remember the last time I made a cake. So when this challenge came along, I thought, I’m gonna bake something. Something with cheese, pears and bacon.

Pear Image

And that’s how I came up with the cheesy pear and bacon scone.

Now this recipe is vegan and mostly gluten-free (I’m pretty sure the tempeh bacon isn’t gluten-free). It was also a tiny bit involved. I made the cheese one day for it to sit 24 hours, and then made the bacon on the day I made the scones. Normally, I would make my own bacon from adzuki beans and oat groats, but I”m a tad under the weather and I wasn’t up to making my bacon from scratch. So I used Trader Joe’s pre-made tempeh marinated for a few hours.

The outcome was tasty, not too crumbly, cheesy first run scones! Not bad for my first time scone making! I would definitely make these again, perhaps following my first mind and throwing in some chopped kalamata olives.

Scone Image 1

Scone Images

Combination of round and traditional scones

 

 

Leave a Reply

