Gingered Split Pea Wraps

19 Jan

Growing up, I was never a big fan of southern greens. My grandma would make a big pot of combed mustard, turnip and/or  collards greens with a few ham hocks thrown in for flavor. I would often pass in favor of the yummy goodness known as hot water corn bread. I always was a sucker for carbs.
Image
The last few years, however, I’ve come to appreciate the pungent freshness of many different types of greens including collard greens. So when I was finalizing my ingredients for this week’s Food Item Challenge, for which I chose split peas, I thought I would give a gingered split pea collard wrap a try.

This week’s challenge was multi-layered and probably way more complicated than it needed to be. The result was nothing less than delicious, though. I would gladly make these wraps again.

Before I began the earnest task of cooking, I soaked the collard greens in water and vinegar as instructed by this wonderful tutorial. (And she’s got beautiful photos!)

Soaking Collards

I started by making the split peas. I chopped up an onion, sautéed that with a little oil and garlic, and then added cumin to the mix. I threw in the peas, chopped lemongrass and chunks of ginger. For liquids, I used a mixture of coconut milk and water. I don’t know exact measurements because I had to keep adding water later as the liquid absorbed and the peas were Split Peas on Stovestill a little too firm for my purposes. Once these were cooked, I drained off the liquid to be used later and pureed the peas with the ginger without the lemongrass slices.

While the peas were cooking, I tossed the seitan in the oven. I make my own seitan at home (I use the recipe from Viva Vegan), however, my last batch was a little bit moist, so you’ll need to adjust cooking times if you decide to use a store bought version. These wraps would definitely be just as delicious without seitan, though. I preferred a little more protein in the mix as split peas tend to be higher in carbs than protein. With thin slices of green pepper and more garlic, I put the strips of seitan in a baking dish and roasted them in the oven for about 40 minutes. Remember, my poor seitan was a bit overwatered and so yours might not need as much time.

While both of these things were cooking, I took canned sliced beets (no time for fresh ones. Besides, they’re such a mess…) and pureed them, then set them aside. Next the sliced cabbage was pureed and set aside. Once everything was finished, I quickly sautéed thinly sliced chard in the drained juice of the split peas.

Sliced Chard

Assembly was fairly easy, though I had to return to the collard tutorial once or twice. Me and the collards were in a serious battle. Two collard leaves head to foot, split peas spooned down the middle followed by a layer of cabbage, beets, greens, seitan and peppers. Fold it all together and voila! Delicious.

Plated wraps

And the meal was light and filling and energizing. I expected the collard greens to be bitter, but they weren’t. Raw collard greens: 1. Ham hocks: 0. A side of hot water corn bread would’ve been nice, though.

 

3 Responses to “Gingered Split Pea Wraps”

  1. Fearless Kitchen February 5, 2013 at 8:17 am #

    This is really interesting, and I can certainly live without the ham hocks 🙂

    • Elle February 10, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      hehe They were delicious! Meaty without the pork. Just how I like it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Split Pea Soup with Ham Hocks | tammyehoney - January 21, 2013

    […] Gingered Split Pea Wraps (gogingerbaby.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

