Mint and the Geographical Truce

13 Jan
Homemade seitan, savory grits and honey mint thyme crema

Homemade seitan, savory grits and honey mint thyme crema

There’s a great debate going on across the country. Middle America and those rug rats in the South have been going at it for years. Warring, raiding, generally acting a fool. And who can blame them? It’s an issue with a definite, exquisitely drawn side of right. Which is better: sweet grits or savory grits.

Being a midwesterner at heart, I’m going with sweet grits all day, every day, Homie. I have loved (and cooked for) a southerner or two in my day, though, and therefore I have learned to embrace the oddity known as cheese grits. I have learned to see the beauty in salt and pepper in harmony with hominy – not the same as grits, I know. But it sounded too sweet to pass up.

This week’s food challenge was mint. Well, I like mint in my smoothies. I like mint with rum. I even like mint with my lemonade. Cooking with mint? Sigh.

Being the woman that I am (and knowing my house would be shitbombed if I didn’t come through this week), I rose to the challenge. I opened my non-judgmental heart and decided I would pair savory grits with my favorite breaded seitan and concoct a lovely mint crema. The sauce was honeyed and thymed and a perfect hint of sweetness to parlay over the bed of grits and seitan.

Cold. Sweet. Thick. Delicious.

Cold. Sweet. Thick. Delicious.

I created a cherry mint fruit cream to go with the meal.

I don’t know if the battle will ever be won between those who worship sugary, buttery grits and those who like their grits prim and proper and salted. I do, however, know that I am all about peace. And I shall spend my life creating a happy balance in the middle.

Honey Mint Thyme Crema
1 cup of cashews (soaked overnight)
2-3 cups of mint
2 cups fresh thyme
1 cup water
3 tablespoons honey
2 tsp minced garlic
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp salt

Throw it all in your blender/food processor/soda can and mix it up. Pair it with your favorite savory dish and enjoy.

One Response to “Mint and the Geographical Truce”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Watch and Learn + Sweet and Savory Grits | The Ginger Baby Reviews - April 3, 2013

    […] I love grits. I’ve written about the incessant struggle between sweet and savory grits in Mint and the Geographical Truce. Usually, I am all about the sweet grits. But after recently having had the most delicious savory […]

Leave a Reply

