BAE Sandwich

12 Aug

Absolutely yummier than a traditional sandwich!

Our local Sunflower has turned into Sprouts, and they were having a sale on the majority of their vegetables. Eggplants were $.88 a piece! What a steal. I usually don’t buy eggplant because I have grand plans and then can never think of anything to make except for baba ganoush (which I’m only so so at making), but this time, I thought, what the hell, and I picked up two.

Well, I was scouring the interwebz for a recipe and came across a recipe for vegan eggplant parmigiana. I was all set to make that when I noticed the little sticker on the side of the eggplant. “Eggplant Sandwich,” it said very stoically. It required ingredients like ham and mozzarella cheese, but I figured I could create my own concoction. And boy am I glad I did! It was DELICIOUS! And I’m sharing it with you. Please make and enjoy!

BAE Sandwich (Bacon, Avocado, Eggplant)

Bae, where my hot Cheetos?! (Hopefully, someone will get that reference!)

Time: About 30 minutes if you’ve already got bacon handy

Ingredients
1 large peeled eggplant
Seasonings (garlic powder, onion powder, bay seasoning)
Olive Oil

Toppings
Handful of Arugula
1 avocado
mayo
dijon mustard
Vegan bacon

Directions

  1. Cut off ends of eggplant and cut lengthwise into slices. I made six slices, and reserved the two “butt” pieces to create something for dinner tomorrow.
  2. Sprinkle slices with seasonings and then drizzle lightly with olive oil.
  3. Place on griddle and grill until tender. I made mine on a hot griddle and it took roughly 3 minutes per side.
  4. Halfway through, flip over your slices and add bacon to the griddle.
  5. Once both eggplant and bacon are done, transfer to plate.
  6. Dress with mayo, mustard and avocado. Layer with arugula and bacon.
  7. Close halves and enjoy with a big luscious salad like we had!

Most delicious thing I’ve had in a very long time! Thank goodness I bought TWO eggplants!

Leave a Reply

