Peek-a-boo

12 Aug
It is said that the women in this Ginger Baby’s family have some amazing thighs. Being a modest woman, I can’t corroborate the tale. What I can say, though, and frankly should say as a PSA to denim everywhere, is that there’s got to be something going on!! It’s always the body part that executes my jeans.

Once, when I was in Spain, I lost my favorite pair of jeans to a thigh-sassination. I was on my way to the outdoor market to buy some fresh veggies and what not. I stuck my leg out of the car to get out, and that’s when I saw the brown skin peeking out amongst the sea of denim. Just like that. One day they were a perfectly worn in but whole pair of jeans. The next, they are oozing my thighs. Today,  I lost my favorite pair of skinny jeans.

When I was in high school, some friends used to call me thunder thighs. I could speed walk like a tornado. I probably should have entered some races or something. I was always proud of them. But now, they are just getting out of hand. Maybe the very public execution of my jeans is my punishment for that sinfully good piece of vegan chocolate cake I ate yesterday from Shot in the Dark Café. “If loving you is wrong, I don’t wanna be right…”

Know what else I love? Ginger. I know. I’m full of surprises. I especially love ginger paired with garlic. Heaven in my mouth. Today I learned that tumeric is a distant cousin of ginger. I can’t remember the source or even if that’s correct, but don’t say I never try and teach you nothing.The other night I made a garlic heavy dish that started as some version of Ani Phyo’s raw pad Thai. It is not that anymore. What it is is yummy, vegetable-laden deliciousness.

I take both regular and red cabbage, red, yellow, and green peppers, grated carrots, snow peas sometimes bean sprouts, onions and tons and tons of garlic and throw it in a bowl. This last time, I ate it over saffron tarragon quinoa and topped it with a makeshift almond ginger dressing, also very loosely based on Ani’s recipe.

The result is a dish popping with color and perfect subtle sweetness that was light and yet filling and also overwhelmingly raw.

Quite delicious, I tell ya. And I know that dish wasn’t the impetus for my thigh winking at me when it should have been safely tucked away in my jeans. Now that I think about it, perhaps it wasn’t the chocolate cake. Chocolate cake loves skinny jeans. I bet it was that dirty punk Captain Pizza…

4 Responses to “Peek-a-boo”

  1. YinSynchromy August 13, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    Yeah, that’s true about turmeric. There was something on UANews.org about that. Freakin’ awesome.

    • Elle August 17, 2010 at 11:17 am #

      That’s probably where I saw it. Thankfully I have brilliant friends who read. 🙂

  2. Yinsynchromy May 25, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    Why didn’t I suggest “Peek-a-Boob” the first time I read this post?!

    • ellespace May 27, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

      HAHA you should’ve!

Leave a Reply

