Ginger-Miso Peanut Butter Cupcakes Part 1

2 Jun

I think it’s quite obvious that I have an obsession with ginger. I don’t believe there’s a day that goes by that I’m not eating SOMETHING with ginger in it. Therefore when I came across the recipe over at Have Cake, Will Travel with the scrumptious combo of miso, peanut butter and ginger, I was sold.

I couldn’t wait to dive into the adventure, posting nonstop on my social networks about these ginger delights I’d found. I am often teased about my relationship with ginger, but Ginger and I, we have an understanding.

Unfortunately, my ex and I definitely do not have an understanding because when I went to make my beloved cookies, I realized my cookie sheet was missing. Hmph. Needless to say, I was in a pickle.

Until I thought about cupcakes. Why couldn’t I just transform said cookies into cupcakes?

And that’s just what I did.

I went for a short 2.5 mile run this morning and came home popping with energy. I decided to use that energy to whip up some brown rice for lunch and begin my cupcakes. I started with the crunchy, maple of peanut butter, the muscles in my arm straining to merge the thick stuff with  the vanilla, powdered ginger, miso and soy milk I added to produce the  creamy conglomeration that would be added to my dry ingredients: mainly whole wheat flour (what I had on hand) and flax meal.

When I left the house this morning, my kitchen smelled amazing! The nutty depths of peanut butter mixed with the spice of ginger and miso… I can’t wait to frost those bad boys with peanut butter cayenne butter creme frosting and then drizzle them with carob ganache. They will be begging to be eaten.

I will return later with Part 2: Pictures and recipe. Is your mouth watering as much as mine?

Leave a Reply

