Health Challenge, Day 1

31 May

There comes a time in every woman’s life when she puts on a bikini and realizes that maybe she should not have. That time came for me last week, and that’s when I decided, enough is enough. Operation “Get It Together” has begun.

Now, this isn’t the first time I’ve gotten indignant about my behaviors (and waistline) and gone on an Operation “Something or Another”. I always start with good intentions, but eventually, I’ve said, “Screw the operation. I want ice cream.” But not this time, dammit. No sir. I can’t keep trying to stuff my ever expanding breasts in a too little brassiere. It’s just not a cute look.

So I’ve decided in honor of my waistline, my impending 30th birthday, and the last year of my Saturn Return (thank GOD!), I am going on a boot-camp style, all-out challenge during the month of June. No meat. No dairy. Mostly raw. Mostly vegan. Basically returning to my former way of life. Go figure. My only exception to this rule will be once weekly when I have dinner dates with friends and the one who sometimes snuggles with me.

I’m going back to drinking my green smoothies and juices in the morning. Fresh salads and veggie burgers and rice for lunch. Simple raw soups and entrees for dinner. In the past, I have tended to make my raw meals much too complicated. I got the fancy dehydrator, my high speed blender, the works. And became utterly paralyzed with the immensity of the task.

Not this time. I’m going for simple meals, like the avocado, cucumber, tomato salad I’ve brought for lunch. I’ve taught dozens of self-absorbed, know-it-all middle-schoolers reading strategies after lunch hour. Compared to that experience, this should be cake.

Leave a Reply

